





केन्द्रीय प्रदूषण नियंत्रण बोर्ड CENTRAL POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

पर्यावरण, वन एवं जलवायु परिवर्तन मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT. FOREST & CLIMATE CHANGE, GOVT. OF INDIA

SPEED POST

F. No.

16th August 2024

To,

Member Secretary, All SPCBs/PCCs

<u>Sub</u>: Guidelines for Handling and Management of Red Mud Generated from Alumina Plants-reg.

Sir/Madam,

This has reference to the Schedule - I of the Hazardous and Other Wastes (Management and Transboundary Movement) Rules, 2016 (HOWM Rules, 2016), wherein 'High Volume Low Effect Waste such as fly ash, phosphogypsum, red mud, jarosite, slags from pyrometallurgical operations, mine tailings and ore beneficiation rejects are excluded from the category of hazardous wastes. The said waste has to be managed as per the Guidelines of Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB).

In compliance of the mandate given under the HOWM Rules, 2016 CPCB has so far prepared the following guidelines which are available on CPCB website at https://cpcb.nic.in/technical-guidelines/:

- 1. Guidelines on Management of Pyro metallurgical Slags (Iron & Steel Slags)
- 2. Guidelines on Management of Pyro-metallurgical Slags (Copper Smelters)
- 3. "Guidelines for Handling and Management of Red Mud Generated from Alumina Plants"
- 4. Guidelines for Handling and Management of Flue Gas Desulphurized (FGD) Gypsum
- 5. Guidelines for Management, Handling, Utilisation and Disposal of Phosphogypsum Generated from Phosphoric Acid Plants

It is requested to kindly bring the aforesaid guidelines to the notice of concerned stakeholders and ensure compliance of the same.

Yours faithfully,

(B. Vinod Babu) Scientist 'F' & Head

Waste Management-II Division

दूरभाष/Tel: 43102030, 22305792, वेबसाईट/Website: www.cpbc.nic.in

<u>List of all the State Pollution Control Boards (SPCBs) & Pollution</u> <u>Control Committees (PCCs)</u>

1.	The Member Secretary Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board D.No. 33-26-14 D/2, Near Sunrise Hospital,Pushpa Hotel Centre, Chalamvari Street, Kasturibaipet, Vijayawada – 520 010	11.	The Member Secretary Jharkhand State Pollution Control Board T.A. Building, HEC, P.O. Dhurwa, Ranchi-834 004 The Member Secretary
2.	The Member Secretary Arunachal Pradesh Pollution Control Board Department of Environment & Forests, Paryavaran Bhawan, Yupia Road, Papu		Karnataka State Pollution Control Board, Parisara Bhavana,1 st to 5 th Floor 49, Church Street, Bengaluru – 560 001
3.	Nalah, Naharlagun- 791110 The Member Secretary Assam Pollution Control Board Bamunimaiden, Guwahati – 781021	13.	The Member Secretary Kerala Pollution Control Board Pattom Palace, P.O. Thiruvanathapuram – 695 004
4.	The Member Secretary Bihar Pollution Control Board Parivesh Bhawan, Plot No. NS-B/2 Patliputra Industrial Area,	14.	The Member Secretary Maharashtra Pollution Control Board Kalptaru Point, 2 nd - 4 th floor, Opp. Cine Planet, Sion Circle, Sion (E), Mumbai – 400 022
5.	Patliputra, Patna (Bihar)-800023 The Member Secretary Chhattisgarh Environment Conservation Board Paryavas Bhawan, North Block	15.	The Member Secretary Madhya Pradesh Pollution Control Board Paryavaran Parisar, Sector E-5, Arera Colony, Bhopal – 462 016
6.	Sector-19, Naya Raipur (C.G.)- 490099 The Member Secretary Goa Pollution Control Board	16.	The Member Secretary Manipur Pollution Control Board Near Imphal West D.C. Office Complex, Lamphelpat, Imphal – 795 004.
	Nr. Pilerne Industrial Estate, Opp. Saligao Seminary, Saligao-Bardez Goa-403511	17.	The Member Secretary Meghalaya Pollution Control Board Arden, Lumpyngngad, Shillong – 793 014
7.	The Member Secretary Gujarat Pollution Control Board Paryavaran Bhawan, Sector 10-A, Gandhi Nagar - 382010	18.	The Member Secretary Mizoram Pollution Control Board New Secretariat Complex, Khatla, Thlanmual Peng, Aizawl, Mizoram - 796001
8.	The Member Secretary Haryana Pollution Control Board C-11, Sector-6 Panchkula Haryana-134 109 Chandigarh	19.	The Member Secretary Nagaland Pollution Control Board Signal Point, Dimapur, Nagaland - 797112 The Member Secretary
9.	The Member Secretary Himachal Pradesh Pollution Control Board Paryavaran Bhawan, Phase-III, Below	- 04	State Pollution Control Board, Odisha Paribesh Bhawan, A-118, Nilakantha Nagar, Unit-VIII, Bhubaneswar – 751 012.
10.	BCS,New Shimla – 171 009. The Member Secretary Jammu & Kashmir Pollution Control Committee	21.	The Member Secretary Punjab Pollution Control Board Vatavaran Bhawan, Nabha Road Patiala – 147 001
	Parivesh Bhawan Forest Complex, Gladni, Narwal, Transport Nagar, Jammu & Kashmir-180004	22.	The Member Secretary Rajasthan Pollution Control Board 4, Institutional Area, Jhalana Doongri Jaipur – 302 004, Rajasthan.

23.	The Member Secretary Sikkim Pollution Control Board Forest, Environment Wildlife Management Department, Government of Sikkim, Forest Secretariat Annex I, Ground Floor, Deorali,
	Gangtok -737102 East Sikkim
24.	The Member Secretary Tamil Nadu Pollution Control Board
	No. 76, Mount Salai Guindy, Chennai – 600 032
25.	The Member Secretary
	Telangana Pollution Control Board
	Paryavaran Bhawan, A-III
	Institutional Estate, Sanathnagar
	Hyderabad – 500018
26.	The Member Secretary
	Tripura Pollution Control Board,
	Parivesh Bhawan, Pandit Nehru Complex,
	Gorkhabasti P.O. Kunjaban,
	Agartala Tripura – 799 006
27.	The Member Secretary
	Uttar Pradesh Pollution Control Board
	Building No TC-12V
	Vibhuti Khand, Gomti Nagar
	Lucknow – 226 010
28.	The Member Secretary
	Uttarakhand Environment Protection &
	Pollution Control Board 46B, IT Park,
	Sahastradhara Road, Dehradun–248001
	Uttarakhand.
	Ottarakriariu.
29.	The Member Secretary
	West Bengal Pollution Control Board
	Paribesh Bhawan, 10A, Block- LA, Sector III,
	Salt Lake City, Kolkata- 700106
30.	The Member Secretary
	Chandigarh Pollution Control Committee
	Paryavaran Bhawan, Ground Floor Madhya
	Marg, Sector C19-B,
	Chandigarh – 160 019
31.	The Member Secretary
	Delhi Pollution Control Committee
	4th Floor, ISBT Building, Kashmere Gate,
	Delhi - 110006.
32.	The Member Secretary
	Daman, Diu & Dadra & Nagar Haveli
	Pollution Control Committee Fort Area, Court
	Compound, Moti Daman- 396220
33.	The Member Secretary
	Lakshadweep Pollution Control Committee
	Lakshadweep Administration, Dept. Of Sc.
	and Technology & Environment
	Kavaratti Island-682 555
34.	The Member Secretary
U-7.	Andaman & Nicobar Pollution Control
	Committee Dept. Of Sc. and Technology
	Dollygunj Van Sadan, Haddo P.O.
	Port Blair – 744 102
L	. 51. Didil 1 102

35.

36.

The Member Secretary

Puducherry Pollution Control Committee Department of Science, Technology and

Environment IIIrd floor, PHB Building, 5, Anna Nagar, Puducherry – 605005

The Member Secretary

Ladakh Pollution Control Committee, Skara yokma, near KBR Airport, UT of Ladakh